The 7 Best Automatic Pet Feeders in Australia

As an Amazon Associate, top7pets.au earns from qualifying purchases. Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on amazon.com.au at the time of purchase will apply.
Rankings re-checked weekly · Last re-checked 28 October 2026
Prices updated dailyAI-assisted, run by Jaco Olwagen

Get the size right first

Size a feeder by the hopper against the daily ration. Dry food runs about 0.4 to 0.5 g per millilitre, so a 4 litre hopper holds roughly 1.6 to 2 kg: three to four weeks for a 4 kg cat eating 60 g a day, ten days for a 10 kg cavoodle on 150 g, and five days for a 30 kg labrador eating 350 g. Most hoppers meter 7 to 10 g a portion, fine for a cat's 20 g breakfast but slow for a big dog, which wants 50 portions a meal. Check the rotor's kibble limit, usually 12 or 13 mm, the big-dog pick here included; large-breed kibble and semi-moist food belong in a tray feeder.

The 30-second match

Not sure which of the seven is yours?

3 quick taps and we'll match you to a pick using the same scores we rank with.

The picks, in order

7 picks

Number one at the top, number 7 at the bottom. The tier label on each card says which price bracket it sits in.

Editor's Choice
White Frienhund feeder with a tall clear hopper and two stainless steel bowls on a splitter base

Frienhund

Frienhund 7L WiFi Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats

7 L hopperTwo bowls, 48 cm apartDual-band Wi-Fi app
PremiumOn Sale
Rank #1

Frienhund 7L WiFi Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats

Our Verdict

The two-cat hopper with room to spare: 7 litres split between two bowls set 48 cm apart, an app on either Wi-Fi band and D cells for a blackout.

Why it's number one: Leads on capacity and scheduling, with a 7 litre hopper, two bowls set 48 cm apart and an app on both Wi-Fi bands that runs up to 30 meals a day, backed by D cells for a blackout; no exact-model critic review was found, and it holds a 4.7-star Amazon rating from 2,663 owners.

8.4ExcellentTop7 Score
A$94.99RRP A$115.9918% off RRP
Verified today
★ 4.7(2,712 reviews)

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check: every capital and regional NSW. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

Frienhund's feeder puts a 7 litre hopper, about 3 kg of kibble, above two stainless bowls on a splitter set 48 cm apart, so two cats or two small dogs eat the same portion at once without one guarding the bowl. The Smart Life app joins 2.4 or 5 GHz Wi-Fi, schedules up to 30 meals a day at 1 to 12 portions each, keeps a feeding record and feeds on demand, and a slow mode drops a portion a minute for a gulper. It runs from a 5 V adapter with three D cells as backup, has a sealed lid with a desiccant pouch, a chew-resistant braided cable and a wall tether, and the tank and bowls come off for washing. Owners report it reliable, quick to set up and dispensing on schedule, though several had trouble getting it onto their Wi-Fi, and one reports a loud beep on first power-up that stops once setup finishes. Sold by a marketplace seller and shipped by Amazon AU, with a one-year warranty.

Portions
7.4
Scheduling
8.9
Reliability
8.5
Capacity
9.3
Owners
8.9

Owners is the 4.7★ Amazon AU rating from 2,712 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 7.4 (rubric 6.5): App sets 1 to 12 portions a meal with no gram weight stated (card): under 20 a meal, the 6 band, plus 0.5 as owners report it dispensing on schedule with no jam reports.
  • Scheduling 8.9 (rubric 8.5): App on 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi with up to 30 meals a day, a feeding record and on-demand feeding, no camera and no low-food alert stated (card): the 8 band plus 0.5 for dual-band Wi-Fi and the meal count.
  • Reliability 8.5 (rubric 8): Mains adapter with three D cells as backup, a desiccant pouch under a sealed lid and a one-year warranty (card); several owners report trouble joining Wi-Fi, so the 8 band and no more.
  • Capacity 9.3 (rubric 9): 7 litre hopper, about 3 kg of kibble (card): between the 5 and 8 litre bands.

Pros

  • + 7 L hopper, about 3 kg of kibble
  • + Two bowls 48 cm apart
  • + App on 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
  • + D-cell backup for a blackout

Cons

  • − Portion weight not stated
  • − Some owners struggle to join Wi-Fi
  • − Marketplace seller, one-year warranty
7 L hopperTwo bowls, 48 cm apartDual-band Wi-Fi app30 meals a dayD-cell backupSlow-feed mode
Grey PetSafe round carousel feeder with a clear lid over a five-compartment rotating tray

PetSafe

PetSafe 5 Meal Automatic Dog and Cat Feeder

5 x 237 ml traysTimer to the minuteBattery powered
Premium
Rank #2

PetSafe 5 Meal Automatic Dog and Cat Feeder

Our Verdict

The proven tray feeder for a cat or small dog on set meals: five compartments, a timer to the minute, batteries only and a two-year warranty via Amazon AU.

8.4ExcellentTop7 Score
A$115.61
Verified today
★ 4.4(10,777 reviews)
✓ Ships from Australia

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check; delivery is charged in Sydney, Brisbane, Hobart and regional NSW 2440. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

The 5 Meal Feeder is a flat carousel about 32 cm across with five 237 ml compartments under a lid that rotates to reveal the next meal on a timer. The portion is exactly what you weigh into each tray, and it takes semi-moist food and big kibble a hopper would jam on. Each compartment holds about 100 g of dry food, a meal for a cat or a 10 kg cavoodle, not a labrador, and five meals is two and a half days of two feeds, or a day of small meals for a bolter. It runs on D-cell batteries, so a blackout does not touch it. Owners report years of service, one replacing a first that lasted seven, and use it for wet food a sachet at a time, for a fast eater needing portions and for a senior wanting a night feed. The fifth compartment sits open. Amazon AU ships it with a two-year warranty, and it earns its place on reliability and support rather than features.

Portions
10.0
Scheduling
7.0
Reliability
10.0
Capacity
6.3
Owners
7.8

Owners is the 4.4★ Amazon AU rating from 10,777 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 10.0 (rubric 10): Five 237 ml trays serve exactly what you weigh into them and take semi-moist food and big kibble (card): 10 for a tray feeder plus the semi-moist half point, capped at 10.
  • Scheduling 7.0 (rubric 6): Digital timer to the minute for five trays and no app (card): the 3 to 6 meals a day timer band.
  • Reliability 10.0 (rubric 10): Battery only, so a blackout does not touch it, a two-year warranty via Amazon AU, and owners report years of service, one replacing a unit that lasted seven (card).
  • Capacity 6.3 (rubric 5): Five trays of 237 ml, about 1.2 litres in total (card): the 1 to 1.9 litre band, two and a half days of two feeds.

Pros

  • + Portions are exactly what you fill
  • + Takes semi-moist and big kibble
  • + Battery only, blackout-proof
  • + Sold by Amazon AU, 2-year warranty

Cons

  • − About 500 g total capacity
  • − No app or Wi-Fi
  • − Bulky and audible when it turns
5 x 237 ml traysTimer to the minuteBattery poweredDishwasher-safe tray2-year warrantySold by Amazon AU
Ships from AU warehouseAustralian Consumer Law may apply
Black Nityers feeder with a tall translucent kibble hopper, a camera in the base and a round stainless bowl

Nityers

Nityers 8L Automatic Dog and Cat Feeder with 1080p Camera

8 L hopper1080p camera2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi
ValueOn Sale
Rank #3

Nityers 8L Automatic Dog and Cat Feeder with 1080p Camera

Our Verdict

The big-dog hopper with a camera: 8 litres, a 17 cm stainless bowl, dual-band Wi-Fi and AA backup, with no subscription to pay.

8.4ExcellentTop7 Score
A$119.99RRP A$149.9920% off RRP
Verified today
★ 4.4(681 reviews)

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check: every capital and regional NSW. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

This is the camera version of Nityers' 8 litre feeder: about 3.5 kg of kibble, ten days for a 30 kg labrador on 350 g a day or weeks for a cat, served into a 17 cm stainless bowl that goes in the dishwasher. The app runs on 2.4 or 5 GHz Wi-Fi with no subscription, with a 1080p night-vision camera, two-way audio, a recorded meal call and low-food alerts. It runs from a USB-C adapter with four AA cells as backup, the lid locks over a desiccant pouch, and the rotor takes kibble up to 13 mm; the listing gives no gram figure for a portion. Australian owners call it easy to set up and a treat to use, and one praises it for bigger kibble but misses an automatic recording of each feed. Two owners say their dog was startled by the food hitting the bowl at first. Nityers gives a one-year warranty.

Portions
7.8
Scheduling
9.3
Reliability
8.5
Capacity
10.0
Owners
7.8

Owners is the 4.4★ Amazon AU rating from 681 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 7.8 (rubric 7): Provisional: the card gives no gram step or per-meal limit; the rotor takes kibble to 13 mm and owners report it dispensing on schedule, so the middle band at 7.
  • Scheduling 9.3 (rubric 9): App on 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi with a 1080p camera, two-way audio, a recorded meal call and low-food alerts, no subscription (card); the meals-a-day limit is not stated and one owner misses a recording of each feed, so 9.
  • Reliability 8.5 (rubric 8): USB-C mains with four AA cells as backup, a locking lid over a desiccant pouch and a one-year warranty (card); owner reports on durability and the dispenser are mixed: the 8 band.
  • Capacity 10.0 (rubric 10): 8 litre hopper, about 3.5 kg of kibble (card): the 8 litre band.

Pros

  • + 8 L feeds a labrador for ten days
  • + 1080p camera and two-way audio
  • + Dual-band Wi-Fi, no subscription
  • + USB-C mains with AA backup

Cons

  • − Portion size not stated
  • − Kibble limit of 13 mm
  • − Can startle a dog at first
8 L hopper1080p camera2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-FiAA battery backup17 cm stainless bowlNo subscription
White PETLIBRO Granary feeder with a camera lens set in the front panel above a stainless steel bowl

PETLIBRO

PETLIBRO Granary Automatic Cat Feeder with 1080p HD Camera 5L

5 L hopper1080p cameraDual-band Wi-Fi
ValueOn Sale
Rank #4

PETLIBRO Granary Automatic Cat Feeder with 1080p HD Camera 5L

Our Verdict

The strongest feeder here: a 5 litre dual-band Wi-Fi hopper with a 1080p camera, two-way audio and battery backup, at a price to match.

8.4ExcellentTop7 Score
A$203.99RRP A$239.9915% off RRP
Verified today
★ 4.3(7,795 reviews)

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check: every capital and regional NSW. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

PETLIBRO's original Granary camera feeder is a 5 litre hopper with a 1080p camera and 145 degree lens above the bowl, night vision, two-way audio and a 10 second mealtime call. The app runs on 2.4 or 5 GHz Wi-Fi, schedules up to 10 meals a day and warns of low food or a blockage. Five litres holds about 2 kg of kibble: three weeks for a 4 kg cat, a week for a 15 kg kelpie. Clips save to your own microSD card, and three D-cells cover a blackout. Owners report easy setup and credit it with ending the pre-dawn wake-up. The notes are kibble at the top of the stated size jamming the rotor, and one owner recommending the cheaper model without the camera. PETLIBRO's Australian storefront ships it free with a two-year replacement warranty. The 2026 Granary 2 Vision, now sold on Amazon AU by PETLIBRO's own store, adds AI pet recognition and a built-in scale, but it costs far more, some tracking needs a paid plan and its Amazon AU review base is still only weeks old, so this model stays the better buy.

Portions
8.1
Scheduling
9.6
Reliability
9.3
Capacity
8.5
Owners
7.4

Owners is the 4.3★ Amazon AU rating from 7,795 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 8.1 (rubric 7.5): Provisional: app meters 1 to 50 portions a meal (card) but the gram step is not stated, so the 7 to 10 g band at 8, minus 0.5 for owners reporting large kibble jamming the rotor.
  • Scheduling 9.6 (rubric 9.5): App on 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi, up to 10 meals a day, low-food and blockage alerts, a 10 second voice call, a 1080p camera and clips to your own microSD (card); a feeding log is not stated.
  • Reliability 9.3 (rubric 9): Mains with three D-cells holding the schedule through a blackout and a two-year replacement warranty from PETLIBRO's AU store (card); no desiccant or years-of-service reports yet.
  • Capacity 8.5 (rubric 8): 5 litre hopper, about 2 kg of kibble (card): the 5 to 5.9 litre band, three weeks for a 4 kg cat.

Pros

  • + 1080p camera with night vision
  • + 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi app
  • + Up to 10 meals, 1 to 50 portions
  • + D-cell backup keeps the schedule

Cons

  • − Premium price for a cat feeder
  • − MicroSD card not included
  • − Large kibble can jam the rotor
5 L hopper1080p cameraDual-band Wi-FiTwo-way audioD-cell backup2-year warranty
Black oneisall feeder with a tall clear hopper and two stainless steel bowls splayed to each side

oneisall

oneisall 5G WiFi Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats 5L

5 L hopperTwo stainless bowlsDual-band Wi-Fi
Value
Rank #5

oneisall 5G WiFi Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats 5L

Our Verdict

The two-cat pick: one 5 litre hopper, two stainless bowls and an app on 2.4 or 5 GHz Wi-Fi, for homes where two cats eat the same food at the same time.

8.0ExcellentTop7 Score
A$89.99
Verified today
★ 4.5(2,541 reviews)

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check: every capital and regional NSW. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

The oneisall Pro splits every meal between two stainless steel bowls at opposite ends of a base about 42 by 18 by 34 cm, so two cats eat the same amount at once without one sitting on the other's bowl. The 5 litre hopper holds about 2.5 kg of kibble, ten days for two 4 kg cats, and the rotor meters portions of about 10 g and takes kibble under 12 mm. The app joins 2.4 or 5 GHz Wi-Fi, keeps a feeding log and plays a 10 second voice call. Owners report simple setup and a two-bowl split that lets two cats that dislike each other eat in peace. The notes are larger kibble jamming the rotor, one owner only getting it onto 2.4 GHz despite the 5 GHz billing, and another losing the app connection after months. It comes from oneisall's Australian storefront with free delivery, and it is the sensible buy for a two-cat home or two small dogs under about 8 kg.

Portions
7.8
Scheduling
8.5
Reliability
7.0
Capacity
8.5
Owners
8.1

Owners is the 4.5★ Amazon AU rating from 2,541 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 7.8 (rubric 7): Provisional: rotor meters about 10 g portions for kibble under 12 mm (card) but the per-meal limit is not stated, so midway between the 8 and 6.5 bands, minus 0.5 for jam reports.
  • Scheduling 8.5 (rubric 8): App on 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi with a feeding log and a 10 second voice call, no camera (card); low-food alerts and the meals-a-day limit are not stated, so the Wi-Fi app band at 8.
  • Reliability 7.0 (rubric 6): Mains with no battery backup stated (card), one owner losing the app connection after months and another stuck on 2.4 GHz: the no-backup band at 6.
  • Capacity 8.5 (rubric 8): 5 litre hopper split between two stainless bowls, about 2.5 kg of kibble (card): the 5 to 5.9 litre band.

Pros

  • + Feeds two cats the same amount
  • + 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi app
  • + 10 g portions and a feeding log
  • + Stainless steel bowls

Cons

  • − Kibble must be under 12 mm
  • − 5 GHz did not work for one owner
  • − No battery backup stated
5 L hopperTwo stainless bowlsDual-band Wi-Fi10 g portions10 s voice callFree AU delivery
Best Value
White Cat Mate C300 round feeder with a rotating lid over three bowl segments and a digital timer

Cat Mate

Cat Mate C300 Automatic 3 Bowl Feeder with Twin Ice Packs

3 x 330 g bowlsTwin ice packsWet and dry food
Budget
Rank #6

Cat Mate C300 Automatic 3 Bowl Feeder with Twin Ice Packs

Our Verdict

The wet-food pick: three covered bowls of up to 330 g, twin ice packs and a digital timer, battery powered, for a cat or small dog fed wet food on a schedule.

8.0ExcellentTop7 Score
A$79.54
Verified today
★ 4.2(4,747 reviews)

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check: every capital and regional NSW. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

The C300 is a round tray feeder about 23 by 24 by 9 cm, three bowl segments under a lid that rotates on a digital timer. Each takes up to 330 g of wet or dry food, and twin ice packs under the tray keep it cool for hours, so it suits a cat or small dog under about 10 kg on wet food, or a cat fed before you wake. Three meals covers a day and a half of two feeds, not a holiday. It runs on batteries, so a blackout does not touch it. Owners report an easy timer and ice packs that hold wet food through a warm night, and most bought it to stop a cat waking them before dawn. The notes are that the first compartment sits open, so that meal has to be eaten at once, and one owner's stopping after two years. It now sells from Amazon's UK store, so returns go overseas.

Portions
10.0
Scheduling
7.0
Reliability
8.9
Capacity
5.5
Owners
7.0

Owners is the 4.2★ Amazon AU rating from 4,747 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 10.0 (rubric 10): Three covered bowls serve exactly what you put in, up to 330 g of wet or dry food each over twin ice packs (card): a tray feeder that takes wet food, capped at 10.
  • Scheduling 7.0 (rubric 6): Digital timer rotating three bowls, no app (card): the timer band at 6; three meals is a day and a half of two feeds, not a holiday.
  • Reliability 8.9 (rubric 8.5): Battery powered so a blackout does not touch it, sold from Amazon's UK store (card); no warranty term is stated and one owner's unit stopped after two years, so short of the 10 band.
  • Capacity 5.5 (rubric 4): Three bowls of up to 330 g of wet food, about 0.99 litres in total at 1 g per ml (card): the under 1 litre band.

Pros

  • + Takes wet food with twin ice packs
  • + Three 330 g bowls
  • + Battery powered, blackout-proof
  • + Covered bowls under a rotating lid

Cons

  • − Three meals is not a holiday
  • − Ice packs need a freezer rotation
  • − First meal sits open
3 x 330 g bowlsTwin ice packsWet and dry foodDigital timerBattery poweredShips from Amazon UK
Grey Amazon Basics gravity feeder and waterer pair with tall clear hoppers over grey bowls

Amazon Basics

Amazon Basics Gravity Feeder and Waterer Set Small 2.72 kg

2.72 kg hopper3.78 L watererGravity fed
Budget
Rank #7

Amazon Basics Gravity Feeder and Waterer Set Small 2.72 kg

Our Verdict

The gravity pair for a cat that self-regulates or a weekend away: a 2.72 kg food hopper and a 3.78 litre waterer, no power, no timer, sold by Amazon AU.

7.1GoodTop7 Score
A$44.90
Verified today
★ 4.5(27,762 reviews)
✓ Ships from Australia

Delivery check, 28 October: Delivers to all nine postcodes we check: every capital and regional NSW. How we check

Check Price on Amazonon Amazon.com.au

This is a pair of gravity dispensers, not a timer: a 2.72 kg food hopper and a 3.78 litre waterer, each about 31 by 17 by 30 cm, with clear bottles, cut-out handles and rubber feet. Food slides into the bowl as it empties, so it suits a cat that grazes without getting fat, two cats on the same dry food, or the backup bowl beside a timed feeder for a weekend away. It is the wrong tool for a labrador or a staffy, which eats until the hopper is empty; the RSPCA's advice on weight is measured meals. Owners report filling it and forgetting it for days, dogs and cats taking to it at once, and one buying a second waterer on the strength of the first. The complaint that holds up is flow: depending on the food it can stop feeding through and want a nudge to clear. Amazon AU sells and ships it, and it earns its place by doing one job for very little, with the waterer a bonus.

Portions
5.1
Scheduling
5.5
Reliability
8.9
Capacity
9.3
Owners
8.1

Owners is the 4.5★ Amazon AU rating from 27,762 reviews, weighted toward the category average when there are few. Fewer than two published reviews of this exact model, so the owner rating carries that weight too. Tick marks show the category average.

How we scored it

Each measure is marked against the category's rubric, where 10 is the best you can buy, 8 is strong, 6 is basic but sound and 4 falls short. The bars show that mark on the Top7 scale (a 6 reads as 7.0, an 8 as 8.5); the notes quote the rubric mark.

  • Portions 5.1 (rubric 3.5): Gravity flow with no portion control (card), the 4 band, minus 0.5 because owners report the flow stopping and big kibble bridging in the neck.
  • Scheduling 5.5 (rubric 4): No timer or app at all; food slides into the bowl as it empties (card): the no-scheduling band.
  • Reliability 8.9 (rubric 8.5): No power or batteries to fail and owners fill it and forget it for days (card); the recurring fault is food bridging in the neck, and no warranty term is stated.
  • Capacity 9.3 (rubric 9): 2.72 kg dry-food hopper, about 6 litres at 0.45 g per ml (card): the 6 to 7.9 litre band; the 3.78 litre waterer is separate.

Pros

  • + 2.72 kg hopper plus 3.78 L waterer
  • + No power or batteries
  • + Clear bottles show the level
  • + Sold by Amazon AU

Cons

  • − No portion control at all
  • − Wrong for dogs that overeat
  • − Big kibble can bridge in the neck
2.72 kg hopper3.78 L watererGravity fedNo power neededNon-skid feetSold by Amazon AU
Ships from AU warehouseAustralian Consumer Law may apply

How we rank automatic pet feeders

We score each feeder on five dimensions. Portion accuracy is how finely it meters food and whether owners report consistent servings. Scheduling and app covers how many meals a day it runs and how any app behaves on Australian Wi-Fi. Capacity is the hopper or trays in litres and grams against the pets it is meant for. Reliability and power backup is what happens in a blackout and how often the mechanism jams. Value is what that spec costs against the other six. Ratings and review counts come from Amazon AU owner feedback, prices and stock are checked daily, and we do not buy or test the products: specifications come from the listings, sentiment from the pattern of reviews.

Scored on Portion accuracy 40%, Scheduling and app 25%, Reliability and power backup 20%, Capacity 15%, plus owner ratings and critic reviews
Prices re-verified every morning
No brand pays for placement
top7pets.au · Updated 28 October 2026Read our full methodology →

What to Look for in an Automatic Pet Feeder

Sizing by litres and grams

Start with the daily ration: about 50 to 70 g for a 4 kg cat, 150 g for a 10 kg cavoodle, 350 g for a 30 kg labrador. Dry food weighs about 0.4 to 0.5 g per millilitre, so 2 litres is a fortnight for one cat, 5 litres three weeks for a cat or a week for a kelpie, and 8 litres ten days for a labrador. Bigger is not better for a cat: kibble goes stale first.

Portions and kibble size

A rotor meters a fixed portion, usually 7 to 10 g, and you set how many per meal. Ten gram steps are coarse for a small cat on 50 g a day, and a dog needs a feeder that allows up to 50 portions a meal. Check the listing's kibble limit, usually 12 mm, before you buy for a large breed on big kibble. Semi-moist food, raw or wet food belongs in a tray feeder, never a hopper.

Power and Wi-Fi at home

Most app feeders only join 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, and many NBN routers hide that band behind one merged network name, so split the bands or use the router's 2.4 GHz network for setup. Summer storms take the power out, so a feeder that runs from a USB adapter with D or AA cells as backup keeps its schedule through an outage. Battery-only tray feeders never notice a blackout at all.

Fresh food, ants and cleaning

A hopper that seals with a desiccant pouch keeps kibble crisp through a humid summer and keeps ants out; an open gravity bowl does neither, so stand it on a mat and wipe the base. Wet food needs ice packs under a covered tray and still only lasts a day. Look for a hopper and bowl that lift out for washing, and a stainless steel bowl if your cat gets chin acne on plastic.

Tray, hopper or gravity

A tray feeder serves a fixed number of meals you fill by hand, so portions are exact and wet food works, but it runs out after a long weekend. A hopper holds weeks of kibble and meters it on a schedule. A gravity feeder keeps the bowl full, which suits a grazing cat and not a labrador. RSPCA guidance is that a pet left alone still needs someone checking daily, so a feeder covers a workday, not a fortnight.

What the price steps buy

The lowest step here is a gravity pair with no power at all. The middle buys a timed tray on batteries or a programmable hopper with backup cells. The next step adds an app on dual-band Wi-Fi, a voice call, feeding logs, two bowls for two cats, and a brand with an Australian storefront and warranty. The top step buys a camera with night vision and two-way audio. Pay for the step that fixes your problem.

A Wi-Fi hopper runs the schedule from your phone and adds a voice call or a camera. A tray feeder holds a few meals under a rotating lid, takes wet food with ice packs and runs on batteries, for a cat on small meals or wet food. A two-bowl splitter feeds two cats the same amount at once, an 8 litre hopper with a wide bowl covers a labrador, and a gravity feeder keeps a bowl full for a cat that self-regulates. To choose these seven we went through the whole Amazon Australia feeder shelf, verified each listing through Amazon's product data for stock, condition and seller, and preferred feeders sold from Australia by Amazon or a brand with a local storefront and warranty. Most app feeders only join 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, so split the bands on an NBN router that merges them. Summer storms cut power, so look for D or AA cells as backup and a schedule held in memory. Ants and humidity find any open bowl in a Brisbane summer, so a sealed lid and desiccant pouch earn their place. Most feeders run from a USB adapter, which removes the plug question; a mains-only import does not.

Automatic Pet Feeders — Frequently Asked Questions

What size automatic feeder do I need for one cat?+

A 4 kg cat eats about 50 to 70 g of dry food a day, and dry food weighs about 0.4 to 0.5 g per millilitre, so a 2 litre hopper is roughly a fortnight and a 5 litre hopper three weeks or more. Buy the smaller one unless you have two cats: kibble left in a hopper for a month goes stale and soft in humid weather. Check the portion step too, because 10 g increments are coarse against a 50 g day.

Can an automatic feeder handle a 30 kg dog?+

Yes, if you size for it. A 30 kg labrador eats about 350 g a day, so an 8 litre hopper holding about 3.5 kg lasts ten days, while a 4 litre cat feeder is empty in five. Look for a feeder that allows up to 50 portions a meal so a full ration goes out at once, a rotor rated for kibble up to 15 mm, and a bowl at least 17 cm across. Large-breed kibble above that size belongs in a tray feeder or a gravity hopper.

Which feeder works for two cats that steal each other's food?+

If both cats eat the same food, a splitter feeder with two bowls set apart serves the same portion to each at the same time, and the distance between the bowls does most of the work. If one cat is on a prescription diet or needs its weight held down, a splitter will not stop the other cat swapping bowls; that household needs one feeder per cat, or a microchip feeder that opens only for the registered cat, which is an access bowl rather than a scheduler.

Do automatic feeders work with wet food?+

Only tray feeders do. A hopper feeder's rotor is built for dry kibble and will smear or jam on anything moist. A tray feeder holds two to five covered bowls with ice packs underneath, which keep wet or raw food cool for hours rather than days, so it covers a morning meal served before you wake or a day at work, not a week away. In an Australian summer, freeze the packs overnight and expect the last bowl to dry out by the afternoon.

What happens to an automatic feeder in a blackout?+

A mains-only hopper stops and, on some models, forgets its schedule. Most good hoppers take D or AA cells as backup and keep the schedule in memory, so a summer storm outage costs nothing but the batteries. Tray feeders run on batteries only and never notice. A Wi-Fi feeder without power backup will still work when the router comes back, but any meal timed during the outage is missed, so fit backup cells before you go away and check them every few months.

Why will my feeder not connect to my NBN Wi-Fi?+

Most feeders only join 2.4 GHz networks, and many NBN routers broadcast both bands under one name, so the phone sits on 5 GHz during setup and the feeder cannot follow. Split the bands in the router settings or give the 2.4 GHz network its own name, stand next to the router for setup, and avoid a guest network. A feeder that supports both bands skips the problem, which is one reason the dual-band picks here rank where they do.

Is it safe to leave my cat alone with an automatic feeder for a week?+

A feeder solves meal timing, not company or emergencies. RSPCA guidance is that a pet left alone still needs someone checking on it daily, for water, a blocked feeder, a knocked-over bowl or illness. A hopper with a fortnight of kibble and a camera makes a long workday and an overnight trip easy; for a week away, book a sitter or a neighbour to look in each day and treat the feeder as their backup, not their replacement.

Found this useful? Share it with fellow Aussies.

Share:

Other Categories

#1 Pick: Frienhund 7L WiFi Automatic Cat Feeder for 2 Cats — A$94.99